StyleScope Part 1: All about the vibe

On a lunch break visit to one of my most frequented websites, I came across this fun little style quiz. I’m always up for seeing which magazine or website can nail down my style (and if I actually agree with it), so I gave it a try. The smartypants-computer-generated-response created by the makers of the quiz over at HomeGoods actually hit that nail on the head when it was determined that I have a “Boho” style:

“Boho isn’t just carefree. She’s adventurous and passionate, loving color and new and unusual uses for things. She’s into the Revamp, Reuse, and Recycle, and she can’t get enough of foraging for a good deal while mixing and matching silk-and-knit textures and vibrant colors anywhere she can.”

The main parts that I take away are 1) I’m adventurous! …canoe trip through an alligator inhabited lake anyone? 2) I LOVE color…my closet is color coded which might make me a geek, I realize 3) Unusual uses for things is an understatement- wanna know my thoughts on what can be done with a pallet?! and 4) I am ALWAYS down to eat food go foraging for a good deal. Not too shabby. I was even able to download a lovely Bo-ho-pho-to to represent:

I couldn’t resist taking the style quiz one more time to see what my second favorite choices would label me as- and again, I was happily satisified with the “Spa Life” result:

“Spa Life doesn’t just keep her sense of calm in the yoga studio. She breathes it into her whole world and those who inhabit it. She understands the idea of creating inner peace in her home to create outer peace in her life. And her home feels like a calming spa she styled without the luxury spa price tag.”

And check out this vignette! I am definitely into this vibe in my living room, bedrooms and yes, one day, in-house yoga studio…haha or just a nice open space where I can stretch my legs!

I seem to associate the description for this one more with my personality than the Boho style. My guess is that SpaLife really conveys a feeling whereas the Boho description is more about color/texture. For me, when it comes to furnishing and decorating a house, it’s all about the vibe. Having comfortable, useable furniture to come home to and flop down on…a place to put your (shoeless) feet up and a general sense of coziness that you can sink into are important to me. The part about “without the luxury spa price tag” cracks me up. Probably because it’s true!

Perhaps all the color and pattern of the Boho style juxtaposed against the serene Spa style seems like they would conflict but I definitely try to work elements of both into the overall aesthetic. I aim for the layers of texture and color of Boho married with the clean lines, carefully curated yet uncluttered surfaces and nature inspired surroundings of SpaLife. Plus, I not-so-secretly like that as my first post, this is a teaser of what is still to come. Next up- Norm’s style quiz! It should be interesting to see how we match as a couple. I’m thinking he’ll fall into some kind of Nautical category, which works for me.

I have only taken a few quizzes online to see what they say, but they seem pretty harmless and fun! Do you ever take quizzes to help figure out your style sense? Are there any favorites of yours we should try online? In your book, are style quizzes helpful or just a bunch of bologna?

Leave a Reply

